#reverb10 – Try

December 18 – Try What do you want to try next year? Is there something you wanted to try in 2010? What happened when you did / didn’t go for it? (Author: Kaileen Elise)

Interestingly, I was running so far behind on reading yesterday’s posts that this prompt came out before I’d read many at all. I quickly found two posts with almost the exact same theme as I had in mind… about not letting other people get me down. Sure, I could have gone with it.

Hmmm, instead I took this as a message to… LOOK DEEPER!

Sheesh. No need to shout. I can take a hint!

Problem is, most of what I’ve written about since starting this journey are things I plan to consciously take with me into 2011.

A small thought ran through my mind… Who am I? Don’t worry, I’m not going that big with this. I mean… Who am I when I reach out? Who is saying hello? It seemed a strange question.

I began to think about who I saw myself as when I’ve been out and about. I looked back and even when it seemed unnecessary, in my own mind, I was always someone’s mother, daughter, sister, aunt, girlfriend, employee or someone’s friend… all labels used to define self. Where was the naked me that should have been standing proudly in front? Oh, snap. Got it.

This is something I did want to do this year, to be seen as me, but I would subconsciously label myself anyway. A case of “Hello, I’m Mari“… and in my own mind I’d add a label. I never stood there on my own with silence after my name.

So, next year I would like to try and see myself as me. To define self with I, instead of a myriad of labels…

Hello, I’m Mari.

.

4 thoughts on “#reverb10 – Try

    • Thank you 🙂 I think what I’m after is to not carry the labels as a kind of armour when I say “I’m Mari”. I suspect the trap has been… If I don’t see me as me, but instead as one of many labels, then no one else can see me either. Ouch, I’m going to give myself a headache thinking on that too much today 😀

Leave a Reply

