#reverb10 – Beyond Avoidance

December 20 – Beyond Avoidance – What should you have done this year but didn’t because you were too scared, worried, unsure, busy or otherwise deterred from doing? (Bonus: Will you do it?) (Author: Jake Nickell)

This prompt has left me angry. Furious. After reading it I ignored it for hours, hoping I’d pass beyond it and be able to answer it in the ‘oh what a wonderful journey‘ spirit it was written. *shakes head* No prizes if you guess my mood hasn’t improved.

Is there something I should have done? Hell yes! I should have listened to that blasted inner voice that told me things weren’t as they appeared and walked away from his ass a long time ago! Damn. Said it. I didn’t want to. I’ll probably spend days wondering if I should delete this. Huh?! A part of me STILL wants to bloody believe that he loved me. Oh fuck. How insane is that? Well, wishes don’t make it real. I’ll get used to that in time. It hurts right now, but I’ll get used to it.

4 thoughts on “#reverb10 – Beyond Avoidance

  1. I think everyone is going to have at least one prompt that makes them face those inner demons. They aren’t all going to be topics that make us feel good (trust me, I can relate). At times, anger is something that kicks us in the butt, teaches us a lesson and provokes us to take action. I’m sorry you were hurt this year and I hope next year has much more joy than pain.

    • Thank you, Rebecca 🙂 I’ve never been good with expressing anger. I know it is better to face it. I’m mad! (at myself) It lets us move past it and as you say take action and learn from the situation. At the same time I know things happen as they’re meant to. If I’d walked away (and stayed away) earlier, I might never have begun this blog, among other things. I wouldn’t be where I am now and my world would ‘probably’ still be a very dark place.

Leave a Reply

