#reverb10 – New Name

December 23 – New Name. Let’s meet again, for the first time. If you could introduce yourself to strangers by another name for just one day, what would it be and why? (Author: Becca Wilcott)

Katariina.

That’s my middle name and I always thought I’d like to have that as my name. In our family it’s a tradition that goes back generations that the eldest child of each sex receives a parent’s first name as their middle name. Katariina. That’s not my mother’s name. They do start with the same letter, but she was named after a sister who died as a baby. She spent her childhood wondering if she would die as well, so she couldn’t make herself give me her name. It’s one reason she never wanted a daughter. I wouldn’t want to use my mother’s name.

Anyway, besides all that, back to Katariina. I think a Katariina would have it all together, or at least if she didn’t she’s so lovable and into life that it wouldn’t matter. Even pronouncing the name, it starts with a cheerful staccato sound that slides off into an uplifting lilt *giggles*

Just saying.

Leave a Reply

